Episcopal Church of Scotland

Related Overviews


'Episcopal Church of Scotland' can also refer to...

Episcopal Church of Scotland

Episcopal Church of Scotland

Episcopal Church of Scotland

Episcopal Church of Scotland

Chillingworth, David Robert (born 1951), Primus of the Scottish Episcopal Church, since 2009

JONES, Dr Idris (born 1943), National Spiritual Director, Anglican Cursillo UK, since 2011; Director, Scottish Episcopal Church, since 2014; Bishop of Glasgow and Galloway, 1998–2009; Primus of the Episcopal Church in Scotland, 2006–09

CAMERON, Andrew Bruce (born 1941), Bishop of Aberdeen and Orkney, 1992–2006 and Primus of the Episcopal Church in Scotland, 2000–06

LUSCOMBE, Lawrence Edward (born 1924), Bishop of Brechin, 1975–90; Primus of the Episcopal Church in Scotland, 1985–90

WILKINSON, George Howard (1833 - 1907), Bishop of St Andrews, Dunkeld, and Dunblane, from 1893; Primus of the Scottish Episcopal Church from 1904

HOLLOWAY, Richard Frederick (born 1933), Bishop of Edinburgh, 1986–2000 and Primus of the Episcopal Church in Scotland, 1992–2000; Chairman: Scottish Arts Council, 2005–10; Joint Board, Scottish Arts Council and Scottish Screen, 2007–10

HENDERSON, George Kennedy Buchanan (1921 - 1996), JP; Bishop of Argyll and the Isles, 1977–92; Primus of the Episcopal Church in Scotland, 1990–92

MASON, Kenneth Staveley (born 1931), Canon Theologian, Scottish Episcopal Church, 1995–96; Canon of St Mary’s Cathedral, Edinburgh, 1989–96, now Canon Emeritus

MACLEAN, Arthur John (1858 - 1943), Bishop of Moray, Ross and Caithness since 1904; Primus of Episcopal Church in Scotland, 1935–43; Hon. Canon of Cumbrae since 1883, and of Edinburgh Cathedral since 1905

BRUNT, Peter William (born 1936), Physician to the Queen in Scotland, 1983–2001; Consultant Physician and Gastroenterologist, Grampian Health Board, Aberdeen, 1970–2001; Clinical Professor of Medicine, University of Aberdeen, 1996–2001; Non-Stipendiary Minister, diocese of Aberdeen, Scottish Episcopal Church, since 1996


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • British History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Scotland had no territorial episcopate before the 12th cent. and no archbishoprics before the late 15th cent. Although the church assumed an increasingly presbyterian accent after the Reformation, bishops remained a lively issue in the conflicts bedevilling church and crown between 1560 and 1690. Thereafter Scotland's remaining episcopalians formed links with English non‐jurors, participating in 1711 in a joint consecration of bishops. An Act of Toleration (1712) gave them legal standing provided their ministers took the oath of allegiance to Queen Anne. The 19th cent. saw substantial reconstruction: seven dioceses by 1837, a doubling of churches and clergy by 1857, a Church Council since 1876, and a Consultative Council on Church Legislation since 1905, the whole later enhanced by a General Synod.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.