equality duty

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

There are currently three public-sector equality duties requiring public authorities to tackle discrimination and promote equality in the areas of race, disability, and gender. The single Equality Bill announced in 2008 aims to introduce a new equality duty on public bodies that will bring together the three existing duties and will extend to gender reassignment, age, sexual orientation, and religion or belief.

Subjects: Law.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.