European Investment Bank

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


A bank set up under the Treaty of Rome in 1958 to finance capital-investment projects in the European Economic Community (EEC). It grants long-term loans to private companies and public institutions for projects that further the aims of the Community. The members of the EIB are the 27 member states of the European Union, all of whom have subscribed to the bank's capital. Most of the funds lent by the bank are borrowed on the EU and international capital markets. The bank is non-profitmaking and charges interest at a rate that reflects the rate at which it borrows. Its headquarters are in Luxembourg.

Subjects: Economics.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.