European Organization for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites

Related Overviews


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Astronomy and Astrophysics


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


An intergovernmental organization that establishes, maintains, and uses meteorological satellites for 18 European states. Established in 1986, its headquarters are in Darmstadt, Germany, and its primary ground station is in Fucino, Italy, with a back-up in Weilheim, Germany. Since 1995, EUMETSAT has owned and operated the geostationary Meteosat weather satellites, which were developed by the European Space Agency and first launched in the late 1970s. The first of the second generation Meteosat satellites was launched in August 2002. The first Metop satellite, which is the first European polar-orbiting satellite dedicated to operational meteorology and climate monitoring, is to be launched in 2005 with two more satellites scheduled in the same series.

EUMETSAT's member states are Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, and the UK. It also has seven cooperating states, Hungary, Slovakia, Poland, Croatia, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovenia, and Romania.

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.