European Southern Observatory

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

An organization founded in 1962 by a consortium of European countries to establish observing facilities in the southern hemisphere. It currently has fourteen member nations: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the UK. Its headquarters are at Garching, near Munich, Germany. ESO owns and operates two observing sites in Chile: La Silla Observatory and Paranal Observatory, the latter being the site of ESO's Very Large Telescope. ESO is also participating in the Atacama Large Millimeter Array (ALMA) project and is building the 42-m European Extremely Large Telescope.

http://www.eso.org Official observatory website.

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.