European Space Research Organization

Quick Reference


One of the predecessors of the European Space Agency (ESA). Established in 1962, its member states included ten European nations and Australia. NASA launched seven ESRO satellites from 1968 to 1972. In 1975 the ESA replaced ESRO and the European Launcher Development Organization (ELDO).

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Reference entries