Margiad Evans


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


novelist, essayist, poet, and writer of short stories, spent most of her life in the south Herefordshire countryside. With her first novel, Country Dance (1932), she established and defined herself as a writer of the Welsh Border, with a strong female voice. Her next three novels, The Wooden Doctor (1933), Turf or Stone (1934), and Creed (1936), were more experimental, but drawn from her own life, as were her short stories, collected in The Old and the Young (1948). Autobiography (1943) interweaves close observation of nature with her own inner life, whilst in A Ray of Darkness (1952) she explores in poetic and mystic terms the onset of epilepsy, a symptom of the brain tumour which caused her early death.

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.