diocese of Exeter

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The see, now conterminous with Devon, was created when Leofric, bishop of Crediton, moved his seat to Exeter in 1050. For 800 years it comprised Devon and Cornwall, but in 1877 Cornwall was hived off to form the new diocese of Truro. The cathedral, rebuilt between 1260 and 1307, is a fine example of the Decorated period.

Subjects: British History — Medieval and Renaissance History (500 to 1500).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.