Expedition One

Quick Reference

A designation for the first resident crew of the International Space Station (ISS). The members of the Expedition One crew were astronaut Bill Shepherd (commander) and cosmonauts Yuri Gidzenko (pilot) and Sergei Krikalev (flight engineer). The crew was launched aboard a Soyuz spacecraft from the Baikonur Cosmodrome on 31 October 2000 and arrived at the ISS on 2 November. The crew returned aboard the space shuttle Discovery on 20 March 2001 after spending 140 days in space.

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Reference entries