Kenneth Fearing


Related Overviews


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literary Studies (20th Century onwards)


Quick Reference


poet and novelist, born in Chicago, resident in New York after graduation from the University of Wisconsin. Angel Arms (1929), Poems (1935), Dead Reckoning (1938), Afternoon of a Pawnbroker (1943), and Stranger at Coney Island (1949) are verse satires of disintegrating, contemporary, middle-class life. His New and Selected Poems appeared in 1956. His novels include The Hospital (1939), about a moment in the big institution; Clark Gifford's Body (1942), a modern parallel of John Brown's raid; The Big Clock (1946), a fastpaced tale of murder and a manhunt; and The Crozart Story (1960).

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries