Elaine Feinstein

(b. 1930)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1930– ),

novelist, poet, and translator, born in Bootle, Lancashire and educated at Newnham College, Cambridge. Her novels, which include The Circle (1970), Children of the Rose (1975), and The Shadow Master (1979), show a development from the experimental towards the naturalistic. Subsequent novels include The Survivors (1982), a saga about a Jewish immigrant family in Liverpool, and Dark Inheritance (2001), a thriller. Other works include Some Unease and Angels (1977), containing poems and her notable translations of the poetry of Marina Tsvetayeva (pub. 1971); Badlands (1986, poems); and Collected Poems and Translations (2003). She has also written biographies of Tsvetayeva (1987), Pushkin (1998), Ted Hughes (2001), and Anna Akhmatova (2005).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.