Eva Figes

(b. 1932)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1932– ),

novelist and feminist, born in Berlin. She came to England in 1939, and during the 1960s belonged to a circle of ‘experimental’ writers which also included B. S. Johnson, Alan Burns, and Ann Quin. Her novels are poetic and fragmented, her preferred form the interior monologue. They include Winter Journey (1967), Days (1974), Waking (1981), Ghosts (1988), and The Tree of Knowledge (1990), a fictionalized biography of Milton's wife. Her non‐fiction works include Patriarchal Attitudes (1970), a groundbreaking work of feminist social and literary criticism, Sex and Subterfuge: Women Writers to 1850 (1982), and Tales of Innocence and Experience: An Exploration (2003).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.