Irving Fineman

(b. 1893)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


author of novels which include This Pure Young Man (1930), a story of adolescent development; Lovers Must Learn (1932), concerned with American expatriates in Paris; Hear, Ye Sons (1933), a story of life in Russian Poland in the 19th century; Doctor Addams (1939), about the contrast between the laboratory work of a research scientist and the disorder in his personal life; Jacob (1941), an autobiographical novel; Ruth (1949), a version of the Biblical story; and Helen Herself (1957), a modern novel. Woman of Valor (1961) is a biography of Henrietta Szold, the founder of Hadassah.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.