Five Pillars of Islam

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(more literally, Pillars of the Faith, Arab., arkān ud-Din).

These are the fundamental constituents of Muslim life. They are (i) ash-Shahāda, the witness;(ii) ṣalāt, formal prayer;(iii) zakāt, tithe for the poor;(iv) ḥajj, pilgrimage to Mecca;(v) sawm, fasting during Ramaḍān.


Subjects: Religion — Medieval and Renaissance History (500 to 1500).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.