Carlisle Floyd

(b. 1926)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Latta, S. Carolina, 1926).

Amer. composer. Taught at Florida State Univ., 1947–76; prof. of mus., Univ. of Houston, from 1976. Works incl. several operas, notably Susannah (1955); Wuthering Heights (1958); The Passion of Jonathan Wade (1962, rev. 1991); Markheim (1966); Of Mice and Men (1969); Bilby's Doll (1976); Willie Stark (1981); and Cold Sassy Tree (1999).

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.