Founding Father

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The 55 delegates to the Constitutional Convention of 1787 that drafted the Constitution of the USA. They included outstanding public officials, of whom the most respected were George Washington and Benjamin Franklin, while the leaders were James Madison and George Mason of Virginia, Governor Morris and James Wilson of Pennsylvania, and Roger Sherman and Elbridge Gerry of Massachusetts. Of the 55 delegates, over half were lawyers, while planters and merchants, together with a few physicians and college professors, made up the rest. Washington was elected President of the Convention and William Jackson secretary. Jackson's notes were meagre, but a report of the debates was given in Madison's journal (and in notes made by other delegates), though, as the Convention was sworn to secrecy, Madison's notes were not published until 1840.

Subjects: World History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.