Four Ages

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

According to the Hindu (see Hinduism) Purānas (see Purāṇas), each eon or kalpa is made up of four ages or yugas. These cosmic ages take their names from the four essential dice throws: the Kṛta or Satya, the Tretā, the Dvāpara, and the Kali. The first age is the golden age of truth. Each succeeding age of the dice game of life marks a deterioration of values. Thus the Kali age—the present time—finds humanity at a low ebb that precedes the ritual sacrificial dissolution of the world by fire and resubmersion in the primal waters, in preparation for the birth of a new kalpa.

Subjects: Religion.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.