Fourth Party

Related Overviews

Lord Randolph Churchill (1849—1895) politician

Arthur James Balfour (1848—1930) prime minister and philosopher

Stafford Henry Northcote (1818—1887) politician

Charles Bradlaugh (1833—1891) politician and freethinker


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • British History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Was the name given facetiously to a parliamentary ginger group in the Conservative Party in 1880 (the other three being Liberals, Conservatives, and Irish). It consisted of Lord Randolph Churchill, J. E. Gorst, Sir H. D. Wolff, and, at some distance, Arthur Balfour. The contempt of the Fourth Party was as much directed at its own front bench as at Gladstone's administration. The main achievement of the group was to launch the spectacular career of Lord Randolph.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.