fourth root of unity

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A complex number z such that z4=1. There are 4 fourth roots of unity and they are 1, i,−1 and−i. (See n-th root of unity.)

Subjects: Mathematics.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.