Fourth Symphony

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Ballet in one act with choreography by Neumeier, music by Mahler, and design by Marco Arturo Marelli. Premiered 31 Mar. 1977 by the Royal Ballet at Covent Garden, London, with Sleep, Seymour, Wall, and Coleman. It is set to Mahler's 4th Symphony and its four parts (‘Beginning’, ‘Shadows’, ‘Evening’, and ‘Epilogue: The Lost Paradise’) portray a boy's rite of passage into adulthood. It was revived for Hamburg Ballet in 1977. Araiz used the same music for Eternity is Now choreographed for the Royal Winnipeg Ballet.

Subjects: Dance.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.