John Fox


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1862–1919), born at Stony Point, Ky., spent part of his youth among the mountaineers of the Cumberlands, whose life is the main subject of his fiction. With the publication of A Cumberland Vendetta (1896), he began his series of novelettes about stereotyped pure mountain girls, savage villains, and the grimly beautiful mountains. Such works include “Hell fer Sartain” (1897), The Kentuckians (1898), and A Mountain Europa (1899). As a correspondent for Harper's Weekly during the Spanish-American War, Fox gained the material for Crittenden (1900), the story of a Southerner whose patriotism for the Union is aroused by a foreign war. Although still steeped in sentiment, his later novels, The Little Shepherd of Kingdom Come (1903) and The Trail of the Lonesome Pine (1908), brought him his greatest recognition. Erskine Dale, Pioneer (1920) is a romance of Kentucky and Virginia during the Revolution.

From The Oxford Companion to American Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.