Robert Frost

(1874—1963) American poet

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


American poet. In 1912 he came to England where he published his first volumes of poems, A Boy's Will (1913) and North of Boston (1914), which contains ‘Mending Wall’ and ‘The Death of the Hired Man’; he formed a close friendship with E. Thomas. Upon his return to New England in 1915 he settled in New Hampshire. His volumes include Mountain Interval (1916); New Hampshire (1923); Collected Poems (1930); A Witness Tree (1942); and In The Clearing (1962). He established himself as one of the most popular of 20th‐cent. American poets, admired for the blend of colloquial and traditional in his verse. But beneath the country lore and wisdom lay a more troubled, combative, at times destructive spirit, both in his life and work, expressed in such poems as ‘Fire and Ice’ (1923) and ‘Bereft’ (1928).

Subjects: Literature.

Works by Robert Frost

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.