Further Education National Training Organization

Related Overviews


'Further Education National Training Organization' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Education


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


A national training organization set up to develop national standards for the initial and in‐service training and qualification of teachers in the further education sector. The standards reflected the targets set in the 1998 Green Paper The Learning Age, that all those teaching full‐time or substantial part‐time hours in colleges of further education should undertake a professional teaching qualification, as a means of improving standards of provision and student attainment in the sector. Funded initially for three years by the Department of Employment, FENTO subsequently became self‐financing. The standards developed were known as the FENTO Standards and were published in 1999. From 2001 all teacher training programmes and awards for the sector, provided by universities, colleges, and national awarding bodies, were required to be endorsed by FENTO as conforming to the standards. The model of professional development presented by the standards consisted of three stages: Introductory, Intermediate, and Certification, which related not to the length but to the breadth of the teacher's professional experience. The work of FENTO was taken over in 2005 by Lifelong Learning UK and its verification arm, Standards and Verification UK, and revised professional standards were developed for the sector. See also qualified teacher learning and skills.

Subjects: Education.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.