George Garrett


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


born in Florida, educated at Princeton, to which he returned as a professor after teaching writing and criticism at Hollins College and the University of South Carolina. His first publication was poetry, continued in The Sleeping Gypsy (1958), Abraham's Knife (1961), For a Bitter Season (1967), Welcome to the Medicine Show (1978), and Love's Shining Child (1981). He was also known for his fiction, his stories being collected in King of the Mountain (1958), In the Briar Patch (1961), Cold Ground Was My Bed Last Night (1964), A Wreath for Garibaldi (1969), and The Magic Striptease (1973). His novels included The Finished Man (1959), about Florida politics; Which Ones Are the Enemy? (1961); Do, Lord, Remember Me (1965), concerning religious revival show people; Death of the Fox (1971), a fictional biography of Sir Walter Raleigh; and The Succession (1984), about Queen Elizabeth and her successor, James I. Sir Slob and the Princess (1962) is a play for children.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.