Nicholas Georgiadis


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Athens, 14 Sept. 1923; d 10 Mar. 2001)

Greek theatre designer. His career was launched by Kenneth MacMillan who commissioned him to design his first professional ballet, Danses concertantes, in 1955, while Georgiadis was still a student at London's Slade School of Art. He subsequently designed MacMillan's House of Birds (1955), Noctambules (1956), The Burrow (1958), Agon (1958), The Invitation (1960), Las Hermanas (1963), Romeo and Juliet (1965), Swan Lake (Berlin, 1969), Manon (1974), Mayerling (1978), and The Prince of the Pagodas (1989). He also designed Cranko's Daphnis and Chloe (Stuttgart, 1962) and Nureyev's Swan Lake (Vienna, 1964), Sleeping Beauty (Milan, 1966, National Ballet of Canada, 1972, London Festival Ballet, 1975), Nutcracker (London, 1968), and Raymonda (Zurich, 1972). He was ranked among the leading ballet designers of the latter half of the 20th century.

Subjects: Dance.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.