Katharine Fullerton Gerould


Quick Reference

(1879–1944), teacher of English at Bryn Mawr, and author of novels and short stories in the vein of Henry James and Edith Wharton. Her stories have been collected in such volumes as Vain Oblations (1914), The Great Tradition (1915), and Valiant Dust (1922). Among the novels are A Change of Air (1917); Lost Valley (1922), set in New England; Conquistador (1923), the story of a Scottish covenanter in Mexico during the time of Pancho Villa; and The Light That Never Was (1931).

From The Oxford Companion to American Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries