W. S. Gilbert

(1836—1911) playwright

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b London, 1836; d Harrow Weald, 1911).

Eng. poet and playwright, librettist of 14 operettas (the ‘Savoy Operas’) with Sullivan from 1871 to 1896. Knighted 1907. The libretti for Sullivan were: Thespis (1871); Trial by Jury (1875); The Sorcerer (1877, rev. 1884); HMS Pinafore (1878); The Pirates of Penzance (1879); Patience (1881); Iolanthe (1882); Princess Ida (1884); The Mikado (1885); Ruddigore (1887); The Yeomen of the Guard (1888); The Gondoliers (1889); Utopia (Limited) (1893); The Grand Duke (1896).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.