Gilbert and Sullivan operas

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Comic operas containing much social satire; the librettos were written by Sir W. S. Gilbert, the music by Sir A. Sullivan, for D'Oyly Carte. The operas are: Trial by Jury (1875); The Sorcerer (1877); H.M.S. Pinafore (1878); The Pirates of Penzance (1879, NY; 1880, London); Patience (1881); Iolanthe (1882); Princess Ida (1884), a satire on feminism suggested by Tennyson' The Princess; The Mikado (1885); Ruddigore (1887); The Yeomen of the Guard (1888); The Gondoliers (1889); Utopia, Limited (1893); and The Grand Duke (1896). They are sometimes known as the ‘Savoy Operas’ because from Iolanthe onwards they were produced at the Savoy Theatre.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.