Good Design Award

Related Overviews

Isamu Noguchi (1904—1988)


'Good Design Award' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Industrial and Commercial Art


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(established 1998)

This prestigious Japanese design award scheme was the successor to the G‐Mark awards (1957 ‐ 1993) established by the Ministry of International Trade and Industry and has become one of the important public faces of Japanese design. Like its predecessor G‐Marks the new awards are managed by the Japan Industrial Design Promotion Organization and are allocated in three principal category areas: Product, Architectural and Environmental Design, and New Tendency Design. The latter category, created in 1999, embraced such significant social issues as the global environment and ageing populations. There are also a large number of Special Awards including, in addition to the Good Design Grand and Good Design Gold Prizes, categories such as Ecology Design, Interactive Design, Urban Design, and Long‐Selling Good Design. Applications for Awards are submitted by manufacturers, retailers, and others and are assessed by juries that include designers, academics, and journalists. In 2002 there were 990 entries from 463 companies that were selected as Good Design Award Winners. The Grand Prize was awarded to Moerenuma Park in Sapporo, an environmental greenbelt project, originally conceived by the sculptor Isamu Noguchi, who died in 1988, and realized by the architect Shoji Sadao, also on the directorate of the Isamu Noguchi Foundation. Gold Prizes for 2002 included awards to the Harley Davidson V‐ROD motorcycle, Digitalstage's Life with Photocinema image‐editing software, Toshiba's IH‐25PB electromagnetic cooker, and Ergonomidesign's Welding Helmet and Respiratory System.

Subjects: Industrial and Commercial Art.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.