Caroline Gordon


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Kentucky-born author of novels and short stories. Her novels include Penhally (1931), about four generations of a Kentucky family; Aleck Maury, Sportsman (1934), about a Southerner who is both scholar and sportsman; None Shall Look Back (1937), about a Kentucky family during the Civil War; The Garden of Adonis (1937), concerning Southern social and economic conflicts; Green Centuries (1941), about 18th-century Southern frontier life; The Women on the Porch (1944), a psychological analysis of a woman's life; and The Malefactors (1956), a sensitive study of an aging, frustrated poet. The Southern Mandarins (1984) collects letters.

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.