Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

‘Five mountains’ (Chin., wu-shan),

the federation of Chʾan/Zen monasteries, in groups of five, especially of Hangchou, Ming-chou, and then in Japan of Kamakura and Kyōto. Because monasteries were often built ...

Subjects: Religion.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.