Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Jap., ‘five mountains’).

The five major Zen temples designated by the Japanese government, in order of precedence (though this order changed from time to time). Initially (14th cent.) they were ...

Subjects: Religion.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.