Shirley Ann Grau

(b. 1929)

Related Overviews

William Faulkner (1897—1962) American novelist


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


New Orleans novelist whose works include The Hard Blue Sky (1958), presenting the life of an isolated Louisiana island community; The House on Coliseum Street (1961), set in her native city and treating the sad, loveless experience of a young girl there; The Keepers of the House (1964, Pulitzer Prize), portraying personal and political problems of a Southern family with a background of miscegenation; The Condor Passes (1971), chronicling three generations of a Louisiana family and its corrupt patriarch; and Evidence of Love (1974), about the tortured relations between father, son, and daughter-in-law. The Black Prince (1955) and The Wind Shifting West (1973) collect stories.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.