Greater London

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A local government area consisting of the 32 London boroughs (12 inner, and 20 outer), the City of London, and the Inner and Middle Temples. A Greater London Council was established by the Local Government Act 1972 but abolished by the Local Government Act 1985 with effect from 1 April 1986. London borough councils, which are unitary (single-tier) authorities, are elected every fourth year, counting from 1982 (see also local authority). In 1998 Londoners voted in favour of government proposals to elect a Mayor of London and a London Assembly to operate from 2000; the Great London Authority Act 1999 enacted these proposals (see also Greater London Authority). The City of London is distinct in both constitution and functions. The Temples have limited independent functions (e.g. public health), but are administered in many respects by the City's Common Council.

Subjects: Law.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.