Geoffrey Grigson

(1905—1985) poet and writer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


poet, critic, and editor of the influential New Verse (1933–9) which he founded. His volumes of verse include Several Observations (1939), Under the Cliff (1943), The Isles of Scilly (1946), Collected Poems 1924–1962 (1963), Angels and Circles (1974), and History of Him (1980). Much of his work celebrates his native Cornwall. His collections of essays, many of them fiercely polemical, include The Harp of Aeolus (1947) and The Contrary View (1974). He also edited selections of work by W. Barnes (1950), J. Clare (1950), and others. He was married to the cookery writer Jane Grigson (1928–90).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Geoffrey Grigson

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.