group 17 elements

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A group of elements in the periodic table: fluorine (F), chlorine (Cl), bromine (Br), iodine (I), and astatine (At). They are known as the halogens. Formerly, they were classified in group VII, which consisted of two subgroups: group VIIB (the main group) and group VIIA. Group VIIA consisted of the elements manganese (Mn), technetium (Te), and rhenium (Re), which now form group 7 and are usually considered with the transition elements.

Subjects: Chemistry.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.