Gryll Grange

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The last satirical novel of T. L. Peacock, serialized 1860, issued as a book 1861.

The main plot concerns Mr Falconer, idealist, ascetic, and classicist, who lives in a tower attended by seven virgins, but is persuaded to join a convivial house party at Gryll Grange, where he woos and wins its presiding genius, Morgana Gryll. Notable characters include the Revd Dr Opimian, an agreeable gourmet with conservative views. Perhaps the most urbane and polished of Peacock's books, Gryll Grange upholds civilization, harmony, and completeness against both technology and religious asceticism, two dominant strands of mid‐Victorian thought.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Thomas Love Peacock (1785—1866) satirical novelist and poet

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.