Hall of Fame

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Shrine in New York established in 1900 to honor fifty notable Americans with memorial busts and tablets. Every five years (after 1970, every three) a committee of 100 chose additions from persons dead more than 25 years. In 1977 the project was ended for lack of funding. Of the 102 persons honored through 1976, 18 are authors: George Bancroft, Bryant, Clemens, Cooper, Emerson, Hawthorne, Holmes, Irving, Lanier, Longfellow, Lowell, Motley, Parkman, Poe, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Thoreau, Whitman, and Whittier.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.