Patrick Hamilton

(1904—1962) novelist and playwright

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


wrote several successful plays, including Rope (1929) and Gas Light (1939), both thrillers. His novels include a trilogy (The Midnight Bell, 1929; The Siege of Pleasure, 1932; The Plains of Cement, 1934) published in 1935 as Twenty Thousand Streets Under the Sky, which deals respectively with the interlocking lives of Bob, a waiter, Jenny, a prostitute, and Ella, a barmaid; Hangover Square (1941), a thriller set in Earls Court; and The Slaves of Solitude (1947), a novel of boarding‐house life in wartime. All the novels show a preoccupation with the perils and pleasures of drinking, and Hamilton's Marxism is expressed in his compassion for the hopelessness of his characters' lives.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.