Wilson Harris

(b. 1921)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1921– ),

Guyanese‐born novelist, came to England in 1959. His ‘Guiana Quartet’ consists of Palace of the Peacock (1960), The Far Journey of Oudin (1961), The Whole Armour (1962), and The Secret Ladder (1963), and his later works include The Waiting Room (1967), The Age of the Rainmakers (1971), and The Tree of the Sun (1978). His fiction is experimental in form, built on a complex, poetic structure. The Infinite Rehearsal (1987) and The Mask of the Beggar (2003) are fictional biographies. See Post‐Colonial Literature.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.