Harvard philosophy

'Harvard philosophy' can also refer to...

Harvard philosophy

SANTAYANA, George (1863 - 1952), formerly Professor of Philosophy at Harvard College

JAMES, William (1842 - 1910), Professor of Philosophy at Harvard University

PERRY, Ralph Barton (1876 - 1957), Professor of Philosophy, emeritus, Harvard University, 1946

STRIKER, Gisela (born 1943), Walter C. Klein Professor of Philosophy and of the Classics, Harvard University, 2002–11, now Emerita (Professor of Classical Philosophy, 2000–02)

QUINE, Willard Van Orman (1908 - 2000), American author; Professor of Philosophy, 1948, and Edgar Pierce Professor of Philosophy, 1956–78, Harvard University, then Emeritus Professor

Democracy's Discontent, America in Search of a Public Philosophy. By Michael J. Sandel. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1996. 417 pp. $24.95

VAN VLECK, John Hasbrouck (1899 - 1980), Hollis Professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy, Harvard University, 1951–69, now Professor Emeritus

Charles Parsons, Philosophy of Mathematics in the Twentieth Centure: Selected Essays. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2014. ISBN 978-0-674-72806-6 (hbk). Pp. xiv + 350

Randall Collins. The Sociology of Philosophies: A Global Theory of Intellectual Change. Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press. 1998. Pp. xix, 1098. $49.95

Michael J. Sandel. Democracy's Discontent: America in Search of a Public Philosophy. Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press. 1996. Pp. xi, 417. $24.95

SEN, Amartya Kumar (born 1933), Professor of Economics and Philosophy and Lamont University Professor, Harvard University, 1988–98 and since 2004 (Emeritus Professor, 1998–2003)

McDOUGALL, William (1871 - 1938), Professor of Psychology in Duke University, NC, formerly of Harvard University, and Reader in Mental Philosophy and Fellow of Corpus Christi College in the University of Oxford

WHITEHEAD, Alfred North (1861 - 1947), Professor Emeritus, Harvard University, Professor of Philosophy, 1924–37; Fellow, late Senior Mathematical Lecturer, Trinity College, Cambridge; Professor Emeritus of Imperial College, London; Council of Royal Society, 1914–15; Governor of Borough Polytechnic, Southwark; sometime Senator of University of London and Dean of Faculty of Science; Chairman of the Academic Council, Chairman of the Delegacy Administering Goldsmith’s College; President of the Mathematical Association, 1915–16; President of Section A, British Association, 1916; Tarner Lecturer Trinity College, 1919; Gifford Lecturer, Edinburgh University, 1927–28; 1st recipient James Scott Prize, Royal Society, Edin., 1922; Sylvester Medal, Royal Society, London, 1925; Butler Medal, Columbia University, New York, 1930


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Philosophy


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Harvard was founded in 1635, a century and a half before the achievement of independence by the United States. There were two distinguished philosophers during the colonial period, but they ...

Subjects: Philosophy.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.