Hereford and Worcester

'Hereford and Worcester' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • British History


Quick Reference

This was a new county, formed under the Local Government Act of 1972. It included the county borough of Worcester, the old county of Hereford, and all of Worcestershire, save for Dudley, Halesowen, and Stourbridge, hived off to West Midlands. There was considerable opposition from Herefordshire, the smaller of the counties, complaining that it had little in common with the industrialized parts of north Worcestershire. But in accordance with the Banham Commission recommendation of 1994 the two counties were separated once more in 1998.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries