James Leo Herlihy


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Detroit-born author, educated at Black Mountain College, has written novels including All Fall Down (1960), depicting the disintegration of a middle-class American family; Midnight Cowboy (1965), presenting an ingenuous cowboy who goes to New York City, where he participates in its seamy nightlife and lovingly takes up with a crippled pickpocket; and The Season of the Witch (1971), about a young girl who runs away from home and also finds refuge among New York's drifters. He has written plays, including Blue Denim (1958), Crazy October (1958), and Stop, You're Killing Me (1968), and stories collected in The Sleep of Baby Filbertson (1959) and A Story That Ends with a Scream (1967).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.