Thomas Heywood

(c. 1574—1641) playwright and poet

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


was writing for Henslowe's Admiral's Men in 1596, and later became a leading dramatist of Queen Anne's and Lady Elizabeth's Men. He claimed to have written over 200 plays, many of which are lost; his chief strength lay in domestic drama. His best plays are A Woman Killed with Kindness (acted 1603, printed 1607), The Fair Maid of the West (printed 1631), and The English Traveller (printed 1633). His An Apology for Actors (1612) is the best Jacobean summary of traditional arguments in defence of the stage. He also published poems (including The Hierarchy of the Blessed Angels, 1635), translations, and pageants for seven Lord Mayor's shows.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Thomas Heywood

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.