High Court of Justice

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Law


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A court created by the Judicature Acts 1873–75, forming part of the Supreme Court of Judicature. Under Part 7 of the Civil Procedure Rules, which sets out the rules for starting proceedings, the High Court is restricted to (1) personal injury claims of £50,000 or more, (2) other claims exceeding £15,000, (3) specialist High Court claims that are required to be placed on a specialist list (e.g. the Commercial List), and (4) claims that are required by statute to be commenced in the High Court. The High Court has appellate jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters (see feature The Appeals System. It is divided into the three Divisions: the Queen's Bench Division, Chancery Division, and Family Division.

Subjects: Law.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.