Higher National Diploma

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


A vocationally related national qualification, usually offered by colleges of further education as a two‐year full‐time programme of study, available in subjects such as business and finance and computing. Applicants are usually required to have General Certificate of Secondary Education passes at grade C or above in English and mathematics, or the equivalent key skills, as well as a total of around 80 Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS) points. HNDs can be ‘topped up’ by additional study by those students wishing to gain a relevant honours degree. The award is accredited in England and Wales at National Qualifications Framework level 4. HNDs now form part of the foundation degree framework. In Scotland an HND is equivalent to level 8 on the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework.

Subjects: Education.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.