Roman Hoffstetter


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Laudenbach, Württemberg, 4 April 1742; d Miltenberg, 21 June 1815). German composer. He entered the Benedictine monastery at Amorbach in 1763 and remained there until its dissolution in 1803, when he moved to Miltenberg. His compositions include six String Quartets op. 3 (formerly ascribed to Haydn), three viola concertos, and some sacred works, including ten masses.

From The Oxford Companion to Music in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.