Holy Orders

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The higher grades (sacri ordines) of the Christian Ministry, i.e. those of bishop, priest, and deacon (qq.v.). In the RC Church the sub-diaconate (until suppressed) was also reckoned among the ‘Major Orders’ (q.v.).


Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.