Horizon 2000

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A programme of major science missions initiated in 1984 by the European Space Agency. Each mission is designated ‘Cornerstone’ and the programme's launches include Giotto (1985), Ulysses (1990), the Solar and Heliospheric Observatory (1995), XMM-Newton (1999), and Rosetta (2004). A Horizon 2000 Plus programme was formulated in 1994 to continue the Cornerstone missions until 2016, and future proposals include Gaia (2011) and BepiColombo (2012).

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.