Houston Symphony Orchestra

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Founded in Houston, Texas, 1913 with Julian Paul Blitz as cond., succeeded 1916 by Paul Berge until 1917. Reorganized 1930, with Frank St Leger as cond. 1931–5, Ernst Hoffmann 1936–47. Hoffmann increased size and standards of orch. Conds. after him included Efrem Kurtz 1948–54; Beecham 1954–5; Stokowski 1955–60; Barbirolli 1961–7; Previn 1967–9; Foster 1971–8; Comissiona art. adv. 1980, cond. 1984–8; Eschenbach 1988–99; Hans Graf from 2002.

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.